List Of 28 Universities In Telangana State – A Quick Guide To Know

Telangana, located in southern India, is home to several prestigious universities and private institutions that cater to the higher education needs of the region. Higher education plays a crucial role in shaping individuals’ careers and their contributions to society. It is a stepping stone for individuals to achieve their career aspirations, develop critical thinking and problem-solving skills, and contribute to the overall growth and development of society.

Telangana Universities comprise various types of institutions, including conventional universities, specialised universities, technological universities, national institutes, state institutes, central universities, and deemed universities, along with several private institutions that offer high-quality education and innovative research opportunities in various fields of study.

Telangana has 17 state universities, 3 central universities, 5 private universities, and 3 deemed universities, offering diverse academic programs and ample opportunities for higher education.

State Universities In Telangana [1]

  • Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Open University
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Architecture and Fine Arts University
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University
  • Kakatiya University
  • Kaloji Narayana Rao University of Health Sciences
  • Mahatma Gandhi University
  • National Academy of Legal Studies & Research University (NALSAR)
  • Nizam’s Institute of Medical Sciences
  • Osmania University
  • P. V. Narsimha Rao Telangana Veterinary University
  • Palamuru University
  • Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University
  • Professor Jayashankar Telangana State Agricultural University
  • Rajiv Gandhi University of Knowledge Technology
  • Satavahana University
  • Sri Konda Laxman Telangana State Horticultural University
  • Telangana University

Central Universities In Telangana State

  • University of Hyderabad
  • English and Foreign Languages University, Hyderabad
  • Maulana Azad National Urdu University

Deemed Universities In Telangana State

  • Chaitanya (Deemed to be University)
  • ICFAI Foundation for Higher Education
  • International Institute of Information Technology (IIIT)

Private Universities In Telangana State

  • Anurag University
  • Mahindra 
  • Malla Reddy University
  • SR University
  • Woxsen University


  1. List of State Univerisities in Telangana State by UGC